Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Weak Driver Door Speakers

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2024, 03:04 AM
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Weak Driver Door Speakers

I own a Jaguar XK8 2001

Currently been questioning my sanity over whether they designed the alpine system in the xk8 to be passenger side dominant. My sub woofer and tweeter on the driver door are significantly lower than that of the passenger side.

Yes they increase with volume but the passenger side will always be louder. Now the issue with this is that I wouldn't hear the bass enough on my side which throws my musical feels off (I'm a musician so it's a sensory
​​​​ Ick)

Yes I've also tried balance but it throws off the front and rear speakers that work as they should. It's like the driver door just has an issue.

Mind you it has been having latch issues but according to the wire diagram I don't think it's related, correct me if I'm wrong.

Old 04-10-2024, 04:10 AM
Received 357 Likes on 233 Posts

Go through all the balance settings using full front left and right and full back left and right. If you listen carefully you should hear whether any individual speaker is not working properly and probably needs replacing. They have their own wiring separate from everything else.

Richard

The following users liked this post:
Don B (04-10-2024)
Old 04-10-2024, 11:07 AM
Received 78 Likes on 48 Posts

Originally Posted by ocwolfy
I own a Jaguar XK8 2001

Currently been questioning my sanity over whether they designed the alpine system in the xk8 to be passenger side dominant. My sub woofer and tweeter on the driver door are significantly lower than that of the passenger side.

Yes they increase with volume but the passenger side will always be louder. Now the issue with this is that I wouldn't hear the bass enough on my side which throws my musical feels off (I'm a musician so it's a sensory
​​​​ Ick)