Go Back  Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Current ) > F-Type ( X152 )
Reload this Page >

Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features

F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards

Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features

 
  #1  
Old 12-18-2016, 02:37 AM
OzXFR's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,943
Received 1,106 Likes on 920 Posts
Default Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features

Thanks to Cambo I now have "configurable dynamics" AKA Dynamic-i on my F-Type, one of the few options it didn't already have. It's a simple software update, a tweak to the CCF using SDD. Cambo suspected I might get some codes and/or error messages, but no trace of anything like that and everything works perfectly.
According to the 2016 MY Oz F-Type options brochure it was not an option on the base F-Type, it was an option on the S, and it was standard on the R. Thanks a heap Cam, sorry I can't tell you how much it cost as an option as it's just about the only option in the brochure which doesn't show a cost!
 
The following users liked this post:
MaximA (12-18-2016)
  #2  
Old 12-18-2016, 04:16 AM
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: State of New Jersey
Posts: 952
Received 129 Likes on 98 Posts
Default ???????????? .......

HUH .... ?!?!?!?!?!!
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-2016, 04:35 AM
OzXFR's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,943
Received 1,106 Likes on 920 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ubad2 View Post
HUH .... ?!?!?!?!?!!
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-2016, 05:56 AM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,335
Received 3,740 Likes on 2,204 Posts
Default

Cheers Kim!

Here's the pics I took today;

Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features-photo997.jpg
Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features-photo684.jpg
Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features-photo966.jpg
Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features-photo238.jpg
Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features-photo986.jpg
Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features-photo4.jpg

I haven't had a chance to check which models in other markets got this feature, I know the V8S and R have it as standard. Could be that the V6S in North America has it as standard as well?

I don't think it'll be possible on a base V6 without the Adaptive Suspension.

But it seems odd that it was left out on your V6S, it's only software after all...
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-2016, 07:15 AM
ek993's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 770
Received 170 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

Cambo, my 2014 V8S does not have this - although it was an available option. Can it be enabled with a software update?
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-2016, 09:33 AM
stmcknig's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,073
Received 214 Likes on 169 Posts
Default

I believe the V6S in NA has it as standard. It wasn't enough to make me part with the extra $$$ and as the base doesn't have the adaptive suspension, I'm guessing even it it could be enabled the car would throw errors because it couldn't talk to the missing bits.
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-2016, 10:01 AM
DJS
DJS is online now
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 4,253
Received 993 Likes on 761 Posts
Default

It wasn't standard originally on the V6S (I don't have it), but it may be now.
 
  #8  
Old 12-18-2016, 10:21 AM
Unhingd's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 13,623
Received 3,177 Likes on 2,397 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DJS View Post
It wasn't standard originally on the V6S (I don't have it), but it may be now.
In 2015 (US model year), configurable dynamic mode came standard only on the R (not even on the V8S). By 2016, it was standard on the V6S. (the advantage of collecting the sales brochures).
 
  #9  
Old 12-18-2016, 04:44 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,335
Received 3,740 Likes on 2,204 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ek993
Cambo, my 2014 V8S does not have this - although it was an available option. Can it be enabled with a software update?
Yes it can be enabled, this is exactly what we did on Kim's car.

But, a dealer can't/won't do it for you though...
 
  #10  
Old 12-18-2016, 05:32 PM
Tel's Avatar
Tel
Tel is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: South Coast - UK
Posts: 701
Received 171 Likes on 108 Posts
Default

I assume that the cars have all the hardware installed (except for the adaptive sus) and everything works OK?

I wonder what other options can be unearthed and switched on that we don't know about.......?
 
  #11  
Old 12-18-2016, 05:41 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,335
Received 3,740 Likes on 2,204 Posts
Default

Kim's V6S has the adaptive suspension (you can see the wires running to the shocks) there are no hardware differences.

A base V6 without the Adaptive Suspension would be a different story I think, not sure if it'd function properly.

The other thing is the manual cars, anyone got one with the Dynamic-i on the screen?
 
  #12  
Old 12-18-2016, 07:20 PM
Unhingd's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 13,623
Received 3,177 Likes on 2,397 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cambo View Post
Kim's V6S has the adaptive suspension (you can see the wires running to the shocks) there are no hardware differences.

A base V6 without the Adaptive Suspension would be a different story I think, not sure if it'd function properly.

The other thing is the manual cars, anyone got one with the Dynamic-i on the screen?
Yes, the V6S manual has full i-Dynamic capability (obviously the tranny dynamics are established with a manual foot dance). Otherwise we can set the throttle, steering and shock sensitivities, record max and monitor g's in 4 directions and view fore/aft throttle and braking input. Maybe other stuff as well, but I'm usually paying closer attention to driving. Checking the pics above, the only difference is that mine lacks the gear shift button in the upper right hand corner of the setting screen.
 

Last edited by Unhingd; 12-18-2016 at 07:25 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Cambo (12-18-2016)
  #13  
Old 12-19-2016, 05:36 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,335
Received 3,740 Likes on 2,204 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tel View Post
I assume that the cars have all the hardware installed (except for the adaptive sus) and everything works OK?
Yes the Adaptive Dynamics is only software, no additional hardware.

Originally Posted by Tel View Post
I wonder what other options can be unearthed and switched on that we don't know about.......?
Just about any feature or option can be enabled or retrofitted, or disabled or removed. And some that never existed on that model at all too...

Short list of what's been done so far;

Upgrade the 380W Meridian to 770W Meridian Surround
Add DAB/DAB+ digital radio or SDARS/Sirius satellite radio
Enable the Adaptive Dynamics
Remove the speed limiter completely
Change emissions settings so you can run other catalysts without errors/codes
Disable the hazards flashing under heavy braking
Enable the off-road navigation feature in the Nav (Land Rover maps with compass & route tracking)
Enable navigation entry on the move (it's locked in some markets)
Enable the TV/DVD/USB video in motion
Enable the Ambient Lighting
Retrofit reverse camera (but I think all F-Types have the camera now)
Disable the speed warning on Gulf market cars.

Plus there's many more things that are possible, for example the TV has been retrofitted into an Evoque which has the same infotainment system as the F-Type.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Cambo:
Itismejoshy (11-20-2017), Tel (12-19-2016)
  #14  
Old 12-19-2016, 05:45 PM
Tel's Avatar
Tel
Tel is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: South Coast - UK
Posts: 701
Received 171 Likes on 108 Posts
Default

Do the mods above require the Jaguar tools to reconfigure or can it be done be done via a simple OBD tool?
Can you set from single to dual zone climate also?


My wish list (although I know it's not an option) would be to display what gear it was in when in 'D' or Auto mode.
 
  #15  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:33 PM
Mbourne's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,456
Received 405 Likes on 303 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Unhingd View Post
In 2015 (US model year), configurable dynamic mode came standard only on the R (not even on the V8S). By 2016, it was standard on the V6S. (the advantage of collecting the sales brochures).
My 2014 V8S has it. My son and I battle over the settings each time we both drive it. It was an option that came with it on mine.
 
  #16  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:46 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,335
Received 3,740 Likes on 2,204 Posts
Default

Can only be done with the dealers diagnostic system SDD, not a generic OBD tool.

I thought all F-Types had dual-zone climate? I've not seen a single zone system...

Don't think the actual gear display in auto/D will be possible. That sort of thing is buried deep in the software of the instrument cluster. Too deep...
 
  #17  
Old 12-20-2016, 01:40 PM
Tel's Avatar
Tel
Tel is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: South Coast - UK
Posts: 701
Received 171 Likes on 108 Posts
Default


Our first V8S (2014) had single zone only.

It was an option to have dual zone on our 2015 V8R.
I bet all the hardware is plumbed in, it just needs to be 'activated'?
 

Last edited by Tel; 12-20-2016 at 06:05 PM.
  #18  
Old 12-20-2016, 03:29 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Herefordshire, England
Posts: 1,493
Received 168 Likes on 147 Posts
Default

I have single zone. Given that the cabin is small, I'm usually the only one in the car, and my girlfriend doesn't appear to feel the cold, there didn't seem much point?

How about unlocking the higher power tunes in the engine ECU?
 
  #19  
Old 12-20-2016, 03:33 PM
mastersid's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: five dock NSW
Posts: 210
Received 79 Likes on 59 Posts
Default

I forgot how to start a new thread so I'm adding to this one if that's OK with OzXFR

I also need to thank Cambo

For the help in sorting out my suspension height problem , it wasn't so much as how you fixed it , but that you did it the very next day .

Cambo mate , if you ever decide to go into business for yourself ( with what you know of Jags , I think you should ! ) put me down as a returning customer .

Again thanks mate ,

have a good Xmas

Cheers

And to the Forum members also a good Xmas to you all
 
The following users liked this post:
Cambo (12-20-2016)
  #20  
Old 12-20-2016, 05:16 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,335
Received 3,740 Likes on 2,204 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tel View Post
Our first V8S (2014) had single zone only.

It was an option to have dual zone on our 2015 V8R. I beilve it is still a cost option on EU models.
I bet all the hardware is plumbed in, it just needs to be 'activated'?
Originally Posted by F-typical View Post
I have single zone. Given that the cabin is small, I'm usually the only one in the car, and my girlfriend doesn't appear to feel the cold, there didn't seem much point?
I've had a look through the parts catalogue and I cannot find any mention of single zone or dual zone HVAC components, so yes it must be just software, in which case yes, the dual-zone function could be activated.

Originally Posted by F-typical View Post
How about unlocking the higher power tunes in the engine ECU?
Yes it's possible to flash a slightly modified F-Type R tune into a V8S, i've done this one several cars now, really wakes them up!

The V6S tune into a V6 is also possible. Likewise we've turned several 5.0L XKR's into XKR-S's as well...

Originally Posted by mastersid View Post
I also need to thank Cambo....
You're very welcome Sid, all the best to you too mate!
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Enabling Configurable Dynamics "Dynamic-i" and other features


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: