F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust Lacking on 2019 F-Type R Convertible! Any help?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2019, 11:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Exhaust Lacking on 2019 F-Type R Convertible! Any help?

I just received delivery of my new 2019 F-Type R Convertible a few days ago and while it's gorgeous, I'm incredibly disappointed in the way it sounds. Previously I had a 2015 F-Type V8 S for a year, and I've been driving the 2016 F-Type R Convertible for the last 3 years, so I'm not unfamiliar with these cars. My complaint is the way that the pops, crackles, and firecrackers have been removed from the throttle profile vs previous models. Don't get me wrong, she'll pop occasionally when she wants to, and when I'm more aggressively up-shifting at about 4k rpm, but she just won't perform on command...

I used to be able to rev her up (or downshift) and then lightly feather the throttle to unleash a cacophony of machine-gun-fire with an impressive discord of snaps, crackles, and firecrackers to "advise" neighboring vehicles that I was in the area... Unfortunately, this unpleasantly-quiet 2019 is unwilling to grant hardly any of these joyous sounds and has left me wondering if I'm able to make it through the 3-year lease that I've signed.

I'm praying that someone is able to advise if there is a setting that I've missed, somewhere obscure that allows this to work? Of course, I only drive it in Dynamic mode with the exhaust on, as there's no way I'd ever try to hush something this beautiful... It's unlikely that I've missed a setting, so my next question is whether this can be rectified at a dealer, or if in-fact, the latest vehicles have been neutered of their sound? Any help?

Thanks!

Old 02-05-2019, 04:17 AM
Banned
Received 54 Likes on 45 Posts

Originally Posted by AtTheJob