Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

rear brakes/stripping down/bleeding

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2016, 04:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rear brakes/stripping down/bleeding

Hello
i need some advise i have a jaguar s-type 3.0 v6 auto 1999 which am restoring i have replaced all the components at the rear of the car , the only thing i was not going to replace or mess with was the rear brake calipers as i noticed the pads was ok but after a closer inspection believe they need stripping down but as i have never done a jaguar before am a little bit nervous so i was wondering can you strip them down ? what affect does the handbrake mechanism have on the caliper if any when stripping down ? The handbrake cable is manual not electric just a large spring at the back of the caliper and what are they like to bleed
So am wondering if anybody as a step by step guide or just just some good advise it would be much appreciate.
Regards

Old 08-14-2016, 04:38 PM
Received 2,255 Likes on 1,840 Posts

They're no different or more complicated than any other car with an integral park brake mechanism.

Old 08-14-2016, 04:55 PM

Thankyou for replying i have stripped many calipers down but not any with integral brake mechanism is their anything i need to look out for in your opinion when removing mechanism from rear of caliper or can you remove it but just note were things go

Old 08-14-2016, 06:56 PM
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts

Originally Posted by jag 66
Thankyou for replying i have stripped many calipers down but not any with integral brake mechanism is their anything i need to look out for in your opinion when removing mechanism from rear of caliper or can you remove it but just note were things go
The only part that I had trouble with was finding the seals for the parking brake shaft. Most of the kits only have the piston seal and the piston dust cover.

Old 08-15-2016, 11:23 AM
Received 2,579 Likes on 1,784 Posts