X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bcm problem or other issue?

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2016, 04:10 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default bcm problem or other issue?

Ive been searching around trying to find a similar situation with no luck. I got this jag(02 xtype) after my dad passed and have no real clear idea of what the history may be. I did find out the car is a salvage title registered in florida bc of flood damage .I started playing around with the fob and noticed it wasnt working bc of crud and age. Luckily my dad had purchased another fob/uncut key so i placed the new fob on the cut ket and followed the steps to pair it to the vehicle. At first i would get a confirmation chime from the dash when paired but the unlock button has never seemed to work so i tried pairing a few times. I even put a brand new battery in the fob today and got the same results. There were times when i could hear the lock actuators move but cant say im hearing much of anything anymore when pressing any button. Could this be a bcm problem. The car runs fine and though ive only had it a few days all the other systems seem to work. Ive given all the fuses a quick glance and they all seem ok but i do plan on having a better look later. Id greatly appreciate any input you guys may be able to help with.

Old 10-01-2016, 06:06 PM
Received 46 Likes on 43 Posts

Andrew,

It is common for the small switches under the rubber button to stop working or go bad. You can remove the ribber pad and spray some contact cleaner on the small switches and clean them up. It may do the trick for $3.95

The following users liked this post:
Andrew Fitch (10-02-2016)
Old 10-01-2016, 06:12 PM

I
Originally Posted by Andrew Fitch
Luckily my dad had purchased another fob/uncut key so i placed the new fob on the cut ket and followed the steps to pair it to the vehicle.
I already had a brand new one and got the same results