Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Too many previous owners

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2014, 11:13 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Too many previous owners

Hello everyone,

I recently began searching for an X-type and I've found that even the lowest mileage x-types have had at least 4 previous owners. I'm just learning about this car, but can you guys shed some light on the possibility of having so many previous owners? I know there are an infinite amount of possibilities, but is it possible that a recurring reason is that these vehicles require too many repairs past a certain point, say 50K miles? I'm having a hard time understanding why a 60K mile X-type has had 4 previous owners.

In general, I want to know at what point you guys realize your jag is gonna be in the shop on a regular basis.

Used Jaguar X-Type - in 90601 Area - on Cars.com

Old 05-22-2014, 12:01 PM
Received 152 Likes on 100 Posts

In my opinion, unless it's an original owner car that may be a little more valuable if you can talk to the owner and get a good idea of exactly what you're getting; any additional number of owners doesn't mean much at all as you will never fully know what kind of history the car has had.

Best way to determine what you are getting is to have someone give it a good thorough pre-purchase inspection that knows what they are looking for.

Good luck

Last edited by ltmax; 05-22-2014 at 09:24 PM.
Old 05-22-2014, 12:27 PM
Received 70 Likes on 66 Posts

History doesn't matter, you need to know condition of a car, when you buy it.
Well, there is a time when history is important. When I buy a car (I am in FL), I can check history and, if a car is from North, not to buy it just for that reason. The only rusty cars in FL are cars from Northern states.

Old 05-22-2014, 01:43 PM
Veteran Member
Received 266 Likes on 210 Posts