XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Hello Red, bye bye Blue

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2018, 03:48 AM
Veteran Member
Received 3,074 Likes on 1,715 Posts
Default Hello Red, bye bye Blue

Hi y'all.
Just traded my XJR-s for an XJR6 (practical reasons).
Not my first one so I have some experience but I will be asking question!
Like, why doesn't the cruise control work?
Why is the stereo so awful?

Old 12-06-2018, 07:50 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,643 Likes on 1,068 Posts

1. Hmm.... check all fuses. Do you have trac/ABS caution light? I think that might inhibit CC, though not sure. If so, have the codes read....but like as not a C1095 for failing solder joints in the ABS Module.
2. Speakers are probably rotten. Can be repaired with a kit...or replaced with 6.5" round ones. Plastic anchor fixing the front inner door panels at the armrest can be quite vexing...see the how-to in the stickies. If you have premium sound, I can almost guarantee your subwoofer in the rear parcel shelf is blown. Much writing here in the forum about that one. Not inexpensive nor easy to find a suitable aftermarket replacement, but these, too, can be repaired.

Coupla nice looking Jags, there!

Last edited by aholbro1; 12-06-2018 at 07:52 AM.
Old 12-07-2018, 01:18 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,001 Likes on 679 Posts

How wonderful! How painful! Welcome to the X300 again. Those folks over in X27 must be a bit upset to see you part with your XJ-S... an XJR-S no less! Although we are all much too polite to question you in any way. So, we all want to know: which car is faster and handles better??

Your cruise control possibly needs a vacuum actuator bulb.

The audio systems are notoriously substandard by today's standards. Not to mention the speakers rot out with age. We are all used to repairing our audio systems. I'm replacing all four of the tweeters in my car, none of which were working. Front pillars done. Big improvement. There are many threads about head unit upgrades too.