XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

IDS / WDS

 
  #1  
Old 06-06-2019, 07:39 AM
countyjag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Scotland
Posts: 546
Received 189 Likes on 143 Posts
Default IDS / WDS

I have come across an old laptop which still works, and which is running Windows XP professional. I have also found a site which purports to offer a download of an old version of IDS/WDS for a few pounds. All that is apparently necessary to allow this to be used on the car is the appropriate lead to connect it.
The recommended lead seems to cost several hundred pounds, which has rather dented my enthusiasm for the idea, although there appear to be several of the inevitable chinese clones available at much more reasonable cost.
I wondered whether anyone had any experience or insight which they could offer. Many thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 06-06-2019, 08:42 AM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Decatur,TX
Posts: 7,867
Received 4,125 Likes on 2,702 Posts
Default

WDS software requires a GENRAD 3500 that is a combination laptop running Windows 98 and VCM (vehicle communications module).

IDS/SDD is the platform that uses a laptop and a separate VCM with appropriate cables.

bob
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (06-06-2019)
  #3  
Old 06-06-2019, 11:35 AM
countyjag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Scotland
Posts: 546
Received 189 Likes on 143 Posts
Default

Thanks Bob. I have widened my research, and this is starting to look like a complete and/ or an expensive nightmare! I need to recalibrate my TPS and cannot locate anyone with the correct equipment. I had hoped I could find a way to replicate it cost effectively, but that is now looking rather optimistic.
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-2019, 11:23 PM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Beautiful Mid-South, U.S.A.
Posts: 16,614
Received 7,689 Likes on 4,287 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by countyjag View Post
Thanks Bob. I have widened my research, and this is starting to look like a complete and/ or an expensive nightmare! I need to recalibrate my TPS and cannot locate anyone with the correct equipment. I had hoped I could find a way to replicate it cost effectively, but that is now looking rather optimistic.
Hi countyjag,

What is the year, model and engine of your Jaguar?

Why do you need to recalibrate your TPS?

Cheers,

Don
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-2019, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cambs
Posts: 301
Received 189 Likes on 124 Posts
Default

I think I've read somewhere here that this:

http://britishdiagnostics.co.uk/prod...-sdd-v130-kit/

actually worked for resetting TPS on an X300.

Could someone confirm?
 
  #6  
Old 06-07-2019, 11:27 AM
countyjag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Scotland
Posts: 546
Received 189 Likes on 143 Posts
Default

Hi Don,
My car is a 1996 XJR auto, and I have been chasing a high idle issue for some time now. I decided to bite the bullet and clean the throttle body. I removed the various intake pipes and the inlet manifold for access ( what fun!) before removing the throttle body. Apart from removing the connector plug, I did not touch the throttle position sensor, and did not flood it with cleaning fluid. In point of fact, the throttle body was only very lightly contaminated. I removed the ISCV, and found a lot of gunk around the plunger and in the air bypass duct which I cleaned. I elected to replace the ISCV with the Renault equivalent, which is recommended elsewhere and which appears identical. On reassembly, the car now settles into a tickover at around 1800 rpm, some 500 rpm higher than before I began!
Cue much depression and despondency, leading to a questioning of whether I really need this car in my life. In truth,I dont need it, but I do love it and so will soldier on for now.
My first thought is that there is a major vacuum leak, and I will check this, although I did take particular care on reassembly. My next thought is that the Renault ISCV is not compatible after all, but I am having some difficulty summoning up the enthusiasm to remove the manifold again to replace it. I was thinking that I could attempt the TPS recalibration process, as some sources suggest this is necessary when the ISCV is replaced, and if it worked, I would have avoided removing the manifold again. I am happy to invest to be able to do this, as I am sure it will be helpful generally to have the correct diagnostic software, but the budget is finite.
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cambs
Posts: 301
Received 189 Likes on 124 Posts
Default

1800rpm means your TPS voltage is out by ~0.04V and your IACV don't even operate as ECU thinks you have a throttle slightly open. Does your throttle open and close fully without sticking?
Have you got an OBD scanner? If you do, turn key into position two and check and let us know TPS voltage at throttle closed and fully open(with your foot fully down).
I cant remember exactly how an XJR looks from underneath but on a N/A car, you can get to TPS screws from underneath the car while its on a ramp. Simply loosen them up and turn the TPS to one side with the car running. It might look like there is no adjustment there at all but in fact there is approx a millimeter, enough to change the TPS voltage at idle by 0.06V or even 0.08V and that's enough to adjust base idle.

Generally in a perfect scenario, throttle body butterfly gap should be set at 0.002" with the TPS voltage as close as possible to 5V when throttle fully open and around 0.6V when closed. It can be tricky to get all three values set up correctly as adjusting one, can change other values but its much easier with the TB out and an OBD scanner.
OBD scanner might show % instead of V so just convert it to V by multiplying by 5.
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (06-07-2019)
  #8  
Old 06-07-2019, 08:44 PM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Decatur,TX
Posts: 7,867
Received 4,125 Likes on 2,702 Posts
Default

The AJ16 does not have a slotted TPS. You can drill the TPS mount holes to approximate the slotted holes to give you a little 'wiggle-room' but the proper procedure is to tell the ECM where 'closed-throttle' is. (TPS calibration)

Has anyone actually tried to access the TPS on the SuperCharged AJ16 and then given advise?????
Hell, you can't even see or access most of the throttle assy.

The TPS is between the Engine Block and the throttle assy UNDER the charge air cooler!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The only way I have been able to access the TPS is with the THROTTLE REMOVED or at least displaced.

The simplest way to set the idle is with PDU/WDS/IDS. I am somewhat 'jaded' as I have worked at the dealer and I have 3WDS and 2 IDS machines but there is no simple answer to many problems due to sensor access.

Parts are not located for repair/adjustment access, they are located by engineers for FUNCTION.

bob
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (06-07-2019)
  #9  
Old 06-07-2019, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cambs
Posts: 301
Received 189 Likes on 124 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by motorcarman View Post
The AJ16 does not have a slotted TPS. You can drill the TPS mount holes to approximate the slotted holes to give you a little 'wiggle-room' but the proper procedure is to tell the ECM where 'closed-throttle' is. (TPS calibration)
(...)
It's not slotted but as I said you can still adjust it within the holes by maybe 3/4 of a millimeter. This is enough to change base TPS voltage by 0.06V maybe 0.08V and that's a difference between 800RPM idle and 1800RPM.
I've done this on three AJ16 engines now.
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (06-08-2019)
  #10  
Old 06-08-2019, 09:28 AM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Beautiful Mid-South, U.S.A.
Posts: 16,614
Received 7,689 Likes on 4,287 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by countyjag View Post
On reassembly, the car now settles into a tickover at around 1800 rpm, some 500 rpm higher than before I began!
I doubt this is your issue, since your idle is high but stable, but I am attaching a TSB about replacing the throttle return spring to cure intermittent high idle. It's probably one that Bob uploaded, so thank you, Bob!

Also, I have to run and haven't had a chance to search for it, but somewhere I've seen a procedure for recalibrating the ISCV that, if I recall correctly, did not require the Jaguar diagnostic tool. If the new ISCV is not closing completely that could certainly be part of your problem.

Cheers,

Don
 
The following users liked this post:
motorcarman (06-08-2019)
  #11  
Old 06-08-2019, 11:25 PM
Vee
Vee is online now
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,720
Received 611 Likes on 508 Posts
Default

That British Diagnostics tool will work, if at least for a little while.

You could bite the bullet, take it to a Jag Dealer and pay out the $150 they’ll probably charge you.

You might also be able to find a mechanic with the right Jag software.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Christian 96 XJR
General Tech Help
16
04-30-2019 09:19 AM
Dutch-R
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
1
11-22-2016 08:50 PM
sartimowich
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
5
08-06-2014 07:07 AM
93XJR-S
General Tech Help
10
03-04-2014 12:45 AM
nebelfuerst
General Tech Help
1
01-01-2014 10:34 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: IDS / WDS


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: