Voltage dial goes to nothing - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Notices
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Voltage dial goes to nothing

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 04-21-2018, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default Voltage dial goes to nothing

SO today after a crappy day of golf I started up my car and backed up then all the sudden the Battery light came on and the dial went to 9(might have been that way just noticed it after the light came on). Then a few minutes later the Engine, I think top left light, came on and I kept going then the ABS and the traction control came on then about 10 minutes later the airbag warning displayed. I was able to drive home which was about 15 miles. However, when I had to stop and then go the vehicle had no acceleration. When I got home the car would not start again

So I looked in the manual and of course and it said when the battery light comes on it is the alternator. So off I went to take it out, which was not fun, took it to the auto store to get it check out and it was fine. Battery is a year old so that can't be it.

So the only thing that it could be is the ECM? What was interesting was that my diagnostic tool could not speak to the ECO BUT I am not sure if that was just because the power was so low.

So looking for some input on what to check next. I still have a spares car and I assume that the ECU is OK so if I need to do that I will but don't want to until everyone chimes in.

Help Please

Here is the latest. I charged the battery, started the car drove around and the car is not charging even though the Alternator is good. I was able to the the OBD2 talking to the care but is showed no errors.
 

Last edited by cdma; 04-21-2018 at 08:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2018, 07:59 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

Today's batteries are junk , have them test it

There is a alternator regulator excitation fuse # 10 / 5 amp RH engine fuse box and some items wired into the same fuse that can cause that excitation to the alternator problems .

You can check the battery's connections

 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 04-21-2018 at 08:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lady Penelope For This Useful Post:
al_roethlisberger (05-16-2018), Don B (04-21-2018)
  #3  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

well it was the fuse but i replaced it and it blew again
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cdma For This Useful Post:
Don B (04-21-2018)
  #4  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:10 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

OK , unplug the sounder unit on the lower shelf just fwd and outboard of the wiper fluid cap . It's a big black square thing with 2 wires . And remove the 2 or 1 washer pump relays ( R7 and R8 ) . And the A/C clutch relay ( L3 ). Pull apart and clean the 2 square connectors with about 10 wires each below the wiper fluid fill cap , the most important is the White / Blue wire in position 2 on the black connector and a second wire White / Blue in position 4




 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 04-21-2018 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lady Penelope For This Useful Post:
al_roethlisberger (05-16-2018), Don B (04-21-2018)
  #5  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Ok got the sounder motor disconnected where are the washer relays. are those by the sounder box and there are three relays there
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

ok now got one of the washer motor relays out. Not sure where the clutch relay is
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:44 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

Yes see the pic and text as you refresh the page in the above edited post
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

i dont see l3 on the diagram
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:47 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

You can go ahead and try it as the high percentage bad item is the sounder .
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

ok I will replace the fuse and see if that does it
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:49 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

closest to the center on the left side . They come apart easier with some penetrating spray
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

nope blew again
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:55 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

Then you'l need to do all the things in the previous text .Getting closer .
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

the only plug like that is in front of the left side fuse panel. could that be it
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:03 PM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Beautiful Mid-South, U.S.A.
Posts: 15,943
Thanked 6,911 Times in 3,864 Posts
Default

Hi cdma,

It looks like Lady P has you on the right track, but for the sake of others reading your thread, please tell us the year, model and engine of your Jaguar.

Cheers,

Don
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

1997 XJ6L
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cdma For This Useful Post:
Don B (04-21-2018)
  #17  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

ok got the connects pulled apart. do i clean the connectors or leave them unplugged while i try another fuse
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:17 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

I updated the pic on post # 4 for the A/C clutch relay # 3 . It is a large one on the back side of the radiator wall as it extends out . Don't yank it out as the whole assembly can pull out and pull the wires .
 
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:24 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,376
Thanked 1,034 Times in 828 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cdma View Post
ok got the connects pulled apart. do i clean the connectors or leave them unplugged while i try another fuse
Many engine regulation wires go through the connectors including the fuel pump turn on circuit so you would have to look and judge it's condition and reconnect . l do have a source for a new connector(s) if needed .
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lady Penelope For This Useful Post:
Don B (04-21-2018)
  #20  
Old 04-21-2018, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 164
Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Default

going to take some sandpaper to the connector as they look clean but seem to be a little oxidized. so when i get them clean and put back together and fusses pulled and ac removed do I then go ahead and try again. by the way post 4 looks the same unless i am missing it. sorry to be such a pain.
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Voltage dial goes to nothing


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: