XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

cutting out

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2013, 08:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cutting out

I'm new to the Jag fraternity, recently buying myself a 77 XJ6. She is a rare thing of beauty.

As much as I love her, a week into our relationship, she refuses to go more than two kilometres without loosing all power, back-firing, and then cutting out.

Sadly, I am no mechanic and am at a loss

Old 03-12-2013, 08:56 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

The "could be" list is long but I suspect a fuel-related issue.

Empty the contents of the fuel filter into a clean container. What you see might dictate your next steps. Rusty or otherwise contaminated fuel is common with older Jags and doubly so if the car sat unused for long periods of time....as old Jags often do.

Cheers
DD

The following users liked this post:
Pete1 (03-13-2013)
Old 03-12-2013, 12:08 PM
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts

Allow me to disagree with Doug. I suspect ignition problems. The backfire is caused as:
  1. The engine continues to turn and draw in the air/fuel mixture
  2. The faulty ignition does not, well, ignite the mixture.
  3. When the ignition cuts back in, the unburned air/fuel in the cylinders/exhaust ignites, causing the backfire.
This is similar to the "key-bang", where a mischievous teenager (usually) turns the key off while driving, waits a second or two, then turns it back on. The result is a fantastic backfire for the reasons listed above.

I think your car, as a '77, has an electronic ignition, but I would start with the usual suspects, such as:
  1. Plug conditions and gaps
  2. Cap, wires, and rotor - If they haven't been replaced recently, swap them out for new ones and keep the old ones as spares (provided that they don't turn out the be the problem)
  3. Check for loose wires in the distributor, to/from the coil, etc.
My $0.02,

Tom