XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Convertible top stopped working. Help!

 
  #1  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:22 PM
SLazz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 168
Liked 37 Times in 17 Posts
Default Convertible top stopped working. Help!

Just had my new to me 2007 XK Convertible delivered to my house. Car starts, windows go up and down as they should but only if I push the toggle switches located on the armrest. When I try to lower the top I get nothing. Top won't open yet the windows start acting up. The front windows go down but will only go back up when I release the toggle switch and try to open the top. Not close it. That is the opposite of what they should do. The windows should go up when I try to close the top.

In addition to the top opening and closing issue the car locks with the key fob but I can open the door by pulling the handle without unlocking it. So it doesn't work either.

Now, I tried a few things to resolve the weirdness. I tried to rest the window by holding the window toggle switch in the raise position until I hear a beep. Also in the lowering position. But no beep. I also tried this with the the convertible top switch. No luck there.

Then battery is 2 years old but maybe it's just low on juice. I picked up a CTEK battery tender and will hook it up to top off the battery, I'll see if that works.

Sorry for the long thread. Does anyone have any idea what is going on with my new Jag? If you do, thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:32 PM
PsiFox's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South Lincolnshire
Posts: 176
Liked 53 Times in 30 Posts
Default


Assuming the battery is ok have you checked the luggage separator in the boot. It needs to be in the correct position for the roof to operate. Also if the separator loses the little magnet again roof will fail to work.




 
  #3  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:42 PM
Cee Jay's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kaysville, Utah, US
Posts: 5,233
Liked 1,091 Times in 821 Posts
Default

^ ^ ^ ^ ^
Sounds like that to me
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:48 PM
SLazz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 168
Liked 37 Times in 17 Posts
Default

The top and everything else was working just fine when I test drove the car a few days ago. I did position the luggage cover in the correct place. Magnet? I have no idea where it is located.

Also, what is going on with the door locking issues? Perhaps a weak battery?
 
  #5  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:57 PM
scm's Avatar
scm
scm is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 707
Liked 117 Times in 101 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SLazz View Post
... the car locks with the key fob but I can open the door by pulling the handle without unlocking it. So it doesn't work either.
Do you have keyless entry? If so, the proximity of the fob will be enough to allow the doors to be opened with the handle.
 
  #6  
Old 02-02-2019, 04:08 PM
SLazz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 168
Liked 37 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by scm View Post
Do you have keyless entry? If so, the proximity of the fob will be enough to allow the doors to be opened with the handle.
Thanks for the info. That was it. I was too close to the car. I feel kinda dumb.

So, that's one down and one to go. I need to get the top working.
 
  #7  
Old 02-02-2019, 04:21 PM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,128
Liked 2,138 Times in 1,389 Posts
Default

It's not a magnet. For details, including location, see: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...o-down-188783/ Thanks, again, to Steve - WhiteXKR.

I found this in less than a minute using the Advanced Search function. Learn to use it, as many questions have already been asked and answered.
 

Last edited by Stuart S; 02-02-2019 at 04:25 PM.
  #8  
Old 02-02-2019, 04:27 PM
SLazz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 168
Liked 37 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Thanks Stuart. I'll do that.
 
  #9  
Old 02-02-2019, 05:22 PM
kj07xk's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 3,075
Liked 749 Times in 608 Posts
Default

Regarding window movement, they go down whenever the top moves, either up or down, so they get out of the way. They will come back up on a ‘top close’ operation, after the top has locked into position.
 
  #10  
Old 02-03-2019, 03:59 AM
PsiFox's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South Lincolnshire
Posts: 176
Liked 53 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Image 2 diagram pn the left the metal piece should be attached at the position marked 1
 
  #11  
Old 02-03-2019, 11:08 AM
SLazz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 168
Liked 37 Times in 17 Posts
Default

The top now operates as it should. The luggage cover wasn't seated properly. It was seated off its proper position by less than a half inch. (I am amazed that the luggage cover's positionong would have such an adverse effect on the convertible top's operation but it does. Kinda strange.)

Anyway, thanks to all for the help. You guys (I didn't see any women responding) are a great source of info and help! Now onto the CTEK battery tender. I'll install that very soon and, hopefully, not mess that one up.
 
  #12  
Old 02-03-2019, 11:58 AM
JackJohn's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Richmond, TX.
Posts: 570
Liked 93 Times in 74 Posts
Default

Question Slazz, with the luggage separator out of position didn't you have a warning on the dash board where the little clock usually is?
 
  #13  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:23 PM
SLazz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 168
Liked 37 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JackJohn View Post
Question Slazz, with the luggage separator out of position didn't you have a warning on the dash board where the little clock usually is?
I don't recall seeing one. But then again, I wasn't looking for one. If it happens again I'll keep an eye out for it.
 
  #14  
Old 02-03-2019, 03:26 PM
jagtoes's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 4,589
Liked 1,261 Times in 956 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SLazz View Post
I don't recall seeing one. But then again, I wasn't looking for one. If it happens again I'll keep an eye out for it.
It's funny but I've had my car for 5 years and I have only removed the cover once to install the leads for my Ctek. During golf season I'm in and out of the boot with my clubs and have never moved the cover.
 
  #15  
Old 02-03-2019, 04:17 PM
PsiFox's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South Lincolnshire
Posts: 176
Liked 53 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SLazz View Post
The top now operates as it should. The luggage cover wasn't seated properly. It was seated off its proper position by less than a half inch. (I am amazed that the luggage cover's positionong would have such an adverse effect on the convertible top's operation but it does. Kinda strange.)

Anyway, thanks to all for the help. You guys (I didn't see any women responding) are a great source of info and help! Now onto the CTEK battery tender. I'll install that very soon and, hopefully, not mess that one up.

thats great news
 
  #16  
Old 02-03-2019, 05:24 PM
kj07xk's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 3,075
Liked 749 Times in 608 Posts
Default

It’s easy to knock it out of position.
Stuck a pizza box in the trunk one night, and the top wouldn’t open (but did get a message on the instrument cluster). Had to wiggle the cover, and then all was well.
If it ever becomes an annoyance, I’ll just bypass that switch.
 
  #17  
Old 02-06-2019, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 157
Liked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Bypass the switch?
How would one do that??
Thanks

Originally Posted by kj07xk View Post
It’s easy to knock it out of position.
Stuck a pizza box in the trunk one night, and the top wouldn’t open (but did get a message on the instrument cluster). Had to wiggle the cover, and then all was well.
If it ever becomes an annoyance, I’ll just bypass that switch.
 
  #18  
Old 02-06-2019, 12:28 PM
Cee Jay's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kaysville, Utah, US
Posts: 5,233
Liked 1,091 Times in 821 Posts
Default

Glue/tape the clip where it rests on the track?
Seems a bit dangerous if one forgets.... could rip/tear/crush stuff that doesn't need to be ripped/torn/crushed.
 
  #19  
Old 02-06-2019, 12:37 PM
Cee Jay's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kaysville, Utah, US
Posts: 5,233
Liked 1,091 Times in 821 Posts
Default

This sort of reminds me of when I sent my Brother-in-law to look at my XKR before I bought it. I asked him to ensure the top worked and looked good........
The salesman (Park Place in Dallas area) couldn't figure out HOW to lower the top, as it didn't operate. They spent half an hour attempting when my BiL Mike called me up to convey the bad news..... Luckily I'd been in the Forum for awhile with my XK8, and had already checked out the X150 threads. I'd also read the X150 User Manual a couple times before I even had Mike check this one out.

Blah, blah, blah, I'm getting to the point...
So when I get the call from Mike, I know exactly wassup. Mike handed his phone to one of the FOUR people trying to figure it out and I easily describe the super-easy fix.... and ten seconds later - - The Top Lowers.
Imagine that.
At a Jaguar Dealership.
On a CPO Jag.

Some people don't need to work selling vehicles.
RTM!
 
  #20  
Old 02-06-2019, 02:30 PM
kj07xk's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 3,075
Liked 749 Times in 608 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cee Jay View Post
Glue/tape the clip where it rests on the track?
Seems a bit dangerous if one forgets.... could rip/tear/crush stuff that doesn't need to be ripped/torn/crushed.
I was thinking of just wiring in a manual switch in parallel (rocker or toggle), to close the circuit (or if it requires an open circuit, then put it in series).
If one carried a lot of stuff back there, yeh you could have a problem, but I usually don't. It would mainly be for the time when I'm in a hurry, and don't have the time to futz with it.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bleeth
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
24
05-19-2014 08:46 AM
jahummer
XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 )
6
07-08-2011 04:01 PM
Jaguarguy
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
1
06-09-2011 06:24 PM
harryc
X-Type ( X400 )
3
12-06-2010 08:56 AM
old wrench
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
6
06-25-2010 07:57 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Convertible top stopped working. Help!


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: