New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New guy in GA having issues with false gauge readings

Old 01-23-2015, 10:14 AM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default New guy in GA having issues with false gauge readings

First off I am new to this. I have owned my 2002 Jaguar X-type for almost 2 years. It has been a great vehicle until recently. I am another victim of the plastic overflow tank leaking. I had a trusted mechanic shop put on a new one about 7 months ago. About a month later my temp gauge read hot. I turned the car off immediately and popped the bonnet open. To my surprise there was no steam, smoke, fluid, or any of the usual signs the car had actually overheated. I placed my hand on the motor but it wasn't hot at all. I have done some research on this site but none have matched my exact same problems. I'll list each one and what has happened since. Any help with this is greatly appreciated.

Gauge reads hot - Turn the car off for 5 seconds turn it back on and the gauge reads either half way or sometimes all the way cold. If I restart the car from a stop it will continue to "overheat". If I am driving on the interstate and turn it back on while the car is rolling it will not "overheat" for the remainder of the time I drive it until it has sat in the driveway for a few hours. Cruise not available light always comes on about 30 seconds before it starts this madness. I have driven the car 4 hours one way after the gauge read hot and I did the rolling start, and not a single issue. It only reads hot when I first start the car in the morning and drive it on the city roads. Any thoughts on this one? I have been told it is the computer, thermostat, fan controller, etc. Still no explanation as to why the rolling start will allow it to perform like a regular vehicle and have no issues.