XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

X358 '06 XJR rear park aid doesn't work

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2018, 06:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default X358 '06 XJR rear park aid doesn't work

Park assist worked 2 months ago, Fr and Rear. now just front. I started a thread on it late November ish. Now the holidays are over and I have time to get back to this. Also Santa brought me a Foxwell NT 510 Scanner (reccomended by folks here). It says circuit failure on all 4 sensors.
Apparently its not the parking aid mod, as I thought. Does this mean all 4 sensors need to be replaced? Or could it be a connection to the PAM? I will need some "how to help" either way. Including taking bumper off if needed.
Last, is there a place on this site that gives more detail as to what the DTC codes mean, like the sensors are C1700 C1703 C1706 and C1709. If not here, then what web site do you use to decode the DTC codes?
Be gentle, I'm very new to this sort of semi modern Jag. I'm used to the ones that had the "luxury of roll up windows". Thanks

Old 01-09-2018, 08:27 PM
Received 1,420 Likes on 1,063 Posts

Check ground to rear sensors

The following users liked this post:
JeffJag (01-13-2018)
Old 01-11-2018, 04:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 739 Likes on 622 Posts

Any water in the wheel well?

The plug into the module is sustantial but remove and inspect pins.

Plug and unplug a couple of times.

JeffJag (01-13-2018)
Old 01-11-2018, 08:32 PM
Received 316 Likes on 243 Posts

Agree with both abonano and meriion1 - check the ground and check for water ingress into the trunk/boot where the spare wheel sits. If water has gotten in, odds are there is some corrosion on the connector as it sits quite low.

Also - if the bumper cover has been taken off, check the connector in the wheel well - I believe RH side, could be loose/corroded, etc...

As for your codes - usually you can just google them, it will come up. Some of us have access to Topix, such as myself.