Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need advice on the best tool to use for ABS module repair

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2019, 10:09 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,578 Likes on 945 Posts
Default need advice on the best tool to use for ABS module repair

I have an intermittent 1095 ABS error message. Which the forum search feature is telling me is going to require some light soldering of the incoming power pins on the ABS module circuit board. I'm a complete novice at circuit board repair, having never soldered one.

I doubt my heavy duty soldering gun is appropriate in this case. What is the best tool for this job ? Something low powered I'm guessing. Any specific recommendations on make and model of soldering tool would be appreciated. What is the correct or best type of solder ?

Do I need to rig some kind of heat sink ? I'm concerned that any prolonged heat is going to ruin the circuit board.

thanks,

Z.

Old 06-20-2019, 12:58 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,808 Likes on 1,115 Posts

Hi Z, I've never been in the abs module, but will be happy to help get things rolling for you.

Desoldering braid: if you can, pick this up. It's a $1 item, typically a 1/8th inch tall, 1mm thick piece of braided copper. To get old component out, place this right on top of the solder joint. Put hot soldering iron on top. As copper heats, it melts old solder, this actually sucks all of the old molten solder out into the copper braid. Just lift up (by now the old molten solder is solid), cut the end of the braid off, lift soldered component out.

Solder: it must be electrical solder. Typically it will contain rosin. Radio shack rosin solder will do the job just fine.