Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here with a 99 XK8 Roadster and an LS-1

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2016, 12:19 AM
Received 28 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Newbie here with a 99 XK8 Roadster and an LS-1

Hello all !
I'm a newbie to the Jaguar world and this forum. I appreciate the add. I've previously owned only one British car in my life. 36 years ago I bought a 69 Triumph GT6+ that was ill tempered, hard to work on but ran like a striped ape when it ran right.

A couple of months ago my wife and I bought a 1999 Jaguar XK8 with a bad engine after the previous owner tried to drive the car home 60 miles with no coolant. It did not end well as he drove it until it quit. The engine is a 4.0 V-8 that is good for a core only.

We did quite a bit of research and price checking on repairing or replacing the 4.0 before giving up. The cost of these repairs are ridiculous. Soooo....... and this where I'm going to get flamed by the purists, I've decided to put an aluminum 5.7 liter LS-1 Camaro engine in it. We will also be swapping out the automatic transmission for the Chevrolet 4L60E transmission.

I'll start a thread on the build as I go along. We have acquired the Chevrolet components after buying a 2002 Z-28 as a donor car and we are purchasing a kit from Jaguar Specialties. I apologize to the purists as I too am typically a purist. BUT, in this instance I feel like GM power is the way to make this sick kitty better. Dependability, drive ability, parts availability and just sheer horsepower make the decision easy for me.

Again, thanks for the add and I'll keep you posted as we go. When I get the Jaguar engine, trans and accessories out of the car, I'll post them up for sale.

Thanks y'all !

Old 08-04-2016, 05:42 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,323 Likes on 735 Posts

Look forward too your travels.

Wayne

Old 08-04-2016, 08:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 600 Likes on 446 Posts

heck while you are at it convert to a 6spd manual. YeeeHaaaaaaaaa

Old 08-05-2016, 10:01 AM