XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

How to replace the reverse camera

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2018, 06:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to replace the reverse camera

Jag Fans and Gurus, I am a newbie to the site and new to the Jag community. I recently purchased a 2011 XJL and love it. However, the reverse camera is not showing the image but does show the guide lines. I purchased a replacement camera but have no idea how to replace the old with the new. The only way I can visualize it is to remove the bumper cover. Please help. I am pretty savvy around cars, previous Corvette owner and enthusiast, so I am comfortable in the garage. Thanks for your time.

Old 03-03-2018, 02:58 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,826 Likes on 3,145 Posts

Brian, looking in the service manual, to remove the camera, you need to remove the rear bumper and then you have 2 more fasteners that hold the camera in place. Granted, it may be possible to simply get the rear end of the car up in the air and then slide your hand up between the bumper cover and the body of the car. But, that is going to be a really tight fit.

Old 03-04-2018, 04:16 AM
Thumbs up

Thermo, thanks a ton for the help. I tried to get through this project without removing the bumper to no avail. Allow me to define tight here, about 1 inch from bumper cover to bumper frame. My hand nor the camera had enough clearance. When able and if possible, can you send me the procedure to remove the bumper cover? Thanks again for the assistance.

Brian

Old 03-04-2018, 03:01 PM
Veteran member

Brian, here is the short version of it:

=disconnect the battery
-raise the car and support on jackstands so you have access under the car
-remove both rear tail lights
-remove the spare tire and the tray that is under the tire
-disconnect the parking sensor plugs in the left corner (nearest you) on the inside wall of the trunk
-remove the 2 screws holding the fender liner to the bumper cover on each side (4 screws total)