XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Introduction, and sunroof woes

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2015, 01:28 PM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Introduction, and sunroof woes

Hello! Just joined here, and am looking to introduce myself and find some advice for my car.

I'm 20, and have owned my 1997 XJ6 3.2 sport manual for nearly a year. In that time I have fitted stainless steel exhaust, air filter and Andy's Mod (see how to improve fuel consumption and engine performance or some title like that), mods that I highly recommend.

I am looking to fix my sunroof: it tilts up but will not slide back. Any thoughts? Also, what is the best tool to take off the torx screws securing the sunroof to the mechanism? My allen keys are either too big or too small, usually by a frustratingly tiny amount.

Is it too big a task for a complete novice to DIY? This will be my first foray into DIY mechanicals and electrics, is it too hard?

Cheers in advance

Old 06-22-2015, 06:47 PM
Veteran Member
Received 672 Likes on 495 Posts

The "search" function is your friend, after searching for "sunroof" in the title, the following key threads were returned that may help:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...orking-120322/

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...t-close-10641/

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...t-opening-462/

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...unroof-115995/

And specifically this document may help: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/a...king-13-34.pdf

Regarding the torx screws, you need to buy some torx drivers/bits. You'll ruin your allen wrenches and/or strip out the socket in the fastener if you try to install/remove the torx with allens.

The following users liked this post:
Don B (06-30-2015)
Old 06-24-2015, 05:29 AM

Thanks very much: doesn't quite answer my question, but extremely helpful never the less!

al_roethlisberger (06-24-2015)
Old 06-24-2015, 06:00 PM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by YoungX300